Fit to Write About BP: Badminton and Prayer

Life is a cycle of highs and lows.

At 51, there are more ‘highs’ than ‘lows’ that I have to watch out for. Rising blood pressure is one, although I am not really checking everyday. But I have made a pact with the best internist-doctor friend in the world by the name of limi_md that I am past the denial stage and my romance with Norvasc Protect will be for life – unless some irreconcilable differences crop up between me and the pill and threaten the life of our contract. It’s fine with me as long as the pill’s life, not mine, is on the line. Besides, the good doctor will always find me a better cure, I know. Doses of laughter are in constant supply, which always work anyway, not only for the hypertension, but in most areas of my lipid panel that are also on the rise.

Lows? Hmm… My candid take is on my hormones, which suffered a post-total hysterectomy holocaust three years ago. I am not sure if my adrenal glands can do all the work now that my ovaries are gone. Not that I am complaining. I’m blessed with a very understanding husband who copes by not bothering himself with a broken clock that he cannot mend anyway.

So what keeps me healthy in dealing with midlife crises? A combination of daily prayers and weekly badminton games form my regimen of health and balance over the years. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/writing-challenge-health/#more-33190

270036_2092505886157_4937422_n    222446_2092790733278_5845792_n

I cannot remember exactly when I got hooked to badminton. Give or take 10 years maybe. There are more ‘highs’ playing a fast court indoor doubles’ shuttle game, in my opinion, than an outdoor doubles’ tennis on hard or even a shell-covered surface. My love for racquet sports began with lawn tennis, which did not make a Navratilova out of me; hence, I quit.

However, in badminton, I discovered I can never be a Gao Ling on the court, but I can be good enough with some power left in my legs to show, despite the years catching up on the joints. The weekly rush of adrenaline that running on the court delivers in having to chase and assault the shuttlecock with an aim to slay it can offset the low supply of other life force-giving hormones in my system.

The dose of daily prayers keeps me sane and whole all throughout the cyclical ebbs and tides that the little universe in my body has to contend with everyday. I can exhaust all my human powers to achieve that healthy balance with adequate exercise – and even with the perfect diet for me. But without my spiritual connection with the rest of the universes out there, I will never feel fit or be in sync. And I want to protect my place in the scheme of things.

Even if life is a series of comings and goings.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs+11%3A1&version=ESV

Proverbs 11:1

English Standard Version (ESV)

11 A false balance is an abomination to the Lord,
but a just weight is his delight.

3 thoughts on “Fit to Write About BP: Badminton and Prayer

  1. Great blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free
    platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Kudos!

    • Thank you, @Erwin for your kind words. Your comment went to the spam box first, hence this delay in my reply. Anyway, I think WordPress is a good place to start for beginners. I am also new in this. I don’t know much about technology, but as you go on blogging, you’d learn the ropes quickly, depending on your drive. I would probably go the route of the paid domain later (why not?), especially if I’d get more people to read my blogs that way. But first, I have to focus on writing well on topics that many people will find interesting, relevant and insightful. At first it’s tough. But you should feel the joy of the exercise in itself as you read and re-read your own blogs. Getting feedback is rewarding. It completes the process of blogging. Getting encouraging feedback, like yours, is a bonus. So, just get on with it and you’ll be fine. Keep in touch!

What do you think? :)

